Weekly Bookish News: Week of 4/3/17

WeeklyBookishNewsImage

As always, this is a duplicate of the newsletter I send my K-12 school district staff every Friday morning ~ a short and sweet round-up of literacy news and happenings that caught my eye, along with a few books to highlight and my elementary read alouds for the week. If you want to know about ALL the middle grade, YA and adult books I read, please hit me up on Goodreads! That’s where you’ll find the good, the bad and the ugly. All picture books are on my Instagram

Favorites from around the web

Without School Librarians, We’re on a Dystopian Path – Chicago Tribune Opinion piece

Teen Readers Share the Last Book They Loved – Barnes and Noble blog

Daily poems from author Jason Reynolds for Poetry Month

Mr. Schu’s Picks for Best of 2017 – Pinterest Board of picture and middle grade books

7 Books to Read During Sexual Assault Awareness Month – Penguin Teen

6 Must-Read YA’s Starring Muslim Protagonists – Barnes and Noble blog

A few books to highlight

Oops Pounce Quick Run: An Alphabet Caper by Mike Twohy – award-winning picture book for primary grades

Horrible Bear by Ame Dyckman – funny picture book by the author of Wolfie the Bunny – NEW to my library

Out of Wonder: Poems Celebrating Poets by Kwame Alexander (and many others) – NEW excellent picture/poetry book

King of the Bench: No Fear – NEW middle grade (for fans of Timmy Failure and Diary of a Wimpy Kid)

Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon – read this excellent YA before the movie comes out in May!

Elementary Read Alouds for the Week

Grade Book 1 Book 2
4K I Am (Not) Scared by Anna Kang
K And then It’s Spring AND Egg Fletcher and the Springtime Blossoms by Julia Rawlinson
K Oops Pounce Quick Run by Mike Twohy They All Saw a Cat by Brendan Wenzel
1 Froggy Rides a Bike by Jonathan London Oops Pounce Quick Run AND Egg
2 Egg by Kevin Henkes Up in the Garden and Down in the Dirt by Kate Messner
3 TESTING
4 Booktalk new Bad Kitty books
5 Famous by Naomi Shihab Nye

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s