YA Review: All the Ways the World Can End by Abby Sher

All the Ways the World Can End by Abby Sher
(Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) – July 11th 2017)

Heartbreaking and quirky, ALL THE WAYS THE WORLD CAN END is a story of preparing for the worst while attempting to cope with the present….all wrapped up in a witty and realistic YA package. Eleanor’s struggles with her father’s cancer are tear-inducing and detailed, and her doomsday prep and self-harm are (to adults) obvious cries for help in a time of family turmoil – the reality is that often these things go unnoticed and end up manifesting exactly as they did for Eleanor, meaning they will be so easy to relate to for many teens.

The included “ways the world could end” sections were a clever addition and really demonstrated E’s obsessions in a clear manner. I was cheering for Eleanor throughout the entire book, and raced to the end to see what would happen. A fresh addition to the YA world.

Highly recommended YA for fans of John Green, Rainbow Rowell and Jeff Zentner.

Thanks to the publisher for the galley of this title – all opinions are my own. 

I will now be passing this galley on to the #KidLitExchange Reviewer Network!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s