The Other Alcott by Elise Hooper

The Other Alcott by Elise Hooper (William Morrow - September 5, 2017) My rating: 5 of 5 stars Gorgeously-written required reading for fans of LITTLE WOMEN, THE OTHER ALCOTT is the "rest of the story" we have all been waiting for since childhood. Thanks to the author for providing me with an advance copy of … Continue reading The Other Alcott by Elise Hooper

Patina by Jason Reynolds

Patina by Jason Reynolds (Atheneum/SimonKids - August 29, 2017) My rating: 5 of 5 stars A perfectly written follow up to Reynolds’ middle grade smash hit GHOST, this title is narrated by Patina, another member of the Defenders Track team. Thank you to Atheneum/Simon Kids for providing me with a review copy of this book … Continue reading Patina by Jason Reynolds

The Last Cherry Blossom by Kathleen Burkinshaw

The Last Cherry Blossom by Kathleen Burkinshaw (Sky Pony Press - August 2016) Thank you to the author for providing a copy of this book to #kidlitexchange for review purposes - all opinions are my own. I did already have a copy in my school library as well. Haunting and impeccably written for a middle … Continue reading The Last Cherry Blossom by Kathleen Burkinshaw

The Storied Life of AJ Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin

The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin (Algonquin - August 2014) My rating: 5 of 5 stars Book Description from Goodreads On the faded Island Books sign hanging over the porch of the Victorian cottage is the motto "No Man Is an Island; Every Book Is a World." A. J. Fikry, the irascible … Continue reading The Storied Life of AJ Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin

The Resurrection of Joan Ashby by Cherise Wolas

The Resurrection of Joan Ashby by Cherise Wolas (Flatiron - August 29, 2017) My rating: 5 of 5 stars Stunning, sweeping, mind-bending - this is a doorstop of a novel that touches on the very deepest core of motherhood and womanhood, while simultaneously showcasing the best short stories I have ever read.......as part of the … Continue reading The Resurrection of Joan Ashby by Cherise Wolas

Ban This Book by Alan Gratz

Ban This Book by Alan Gratz (Starscape - August 29th, 2017) My rating: 4 of 5 stars A wonderful message about the the power of speaking up in this middle grade novel for book lovers and librarians! Thanks to the author for providing me with an advance copy of this novel for review purposes - … Continue reading Ban This Book by Alan Gratz

Cover Reveal for The Battle of Junk Mountain by Lauren Abbey Greenberg

I am so excited to get to host the cover reveal for this April 2018 middle grade novel by Lauren Abbey Greenberg! The book sounds amazing and I can not WAIT to get to read it soon.  About the Book The Battle of Junk Mountain by Lauren Abbey Greenberg (Running Press - April 2018) Twelve-year-old Shayne Whittaker … Continue reading Cover Reveal for The Battle of Junk Mountain by Lauren Abbey Greenberg

Things that Surprise You by Jennifer Maschari

Things that Surprise You by Jennifer Maschari (Balzer + Bray - August 22, 2017) Thank you to Blue Slip Media for providing me with an advance copy of this book for review - all opinions are my own. Oh, how I love this book! I read it in one morning and halfway through reading it … Continue reading Things that Surprise You by Jennifer Maschari

Y Is For Yesterday by Sue Grafton

Y is for Yesterday by Sue Grafton (Putnam - August 22, 2017) My rating: 4 of 5 stars I have been in love with the Kinsey Millhone series since I started with A IS FOR ALIBI in the mid-90's - this series is an absolute nostalgic favorite of mine. Thanks to Putnam for providing me … Continue reading Y Is For Yesterday by Sue Grafton

Young Jane Young by Gabrielle Zevin

Young Jane Young by Gabrielle Zevin (Algonquin - August 22, 2017) My rating: 4 of 5 stars Feminist, timely and uniquely constructed, this novel is a commentary on motherhood, womanhood and politics. Thanks to Algonquin for the review copy of this title - all opinions are my own. Book Description (from Goodreads) Young Jane Young's … Continue reading Young Jane Young by Gabrielle Zevin